People on the move

Posted on Sep 27, 2019 :: People on the Move
Posted by , Insight on Business Staff Writer


Melissa Hughes, a top executive with the dairy cooperative Organic Valley, is the new CEO of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp.

For the past 15 years, Hughes has worked as general counsel at Organic Valley in La Farge. While there, she helped grow the number of participating farms from 500 to 2,000 and annual sales to more than $1 billion.

Gov. Tony Evers named Hughes to replace former CEO Mark Hogan, who retired Sept. 1 and had been appointed to the post by Gov. Scott Walker. Before joining Organic Valley, Hughes worked as a private attorney in Wyoming. She begins her new role Oct. 1.



Sheryl L. Van Gruensven was named interim chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. She is the institution’s vice chancellor for business and finance and has served in numerous roles at UW-Green Bay.

“Sheryl is a well-regarded administrator and budget and finance specialist,” UW System President Ray Cross said. “She has my full confidence to lead UW-Green Bay in the coming months.”

Prior to being named vice chancellor for business and finance in 2016, Van Gruensven had served in that role on an interim basis. She joined UW-Green Bay in 2004 and was named director of human resources in 2005.


New hires

Sara L. Muhlbauer was named CEO of Lakeland Care.

Aspiro named Lincoln Burr as president and Alan Gaffney as vice president of finance.

Brian Leone-Tracy was named executive director of Fox Valley Literacy.

Fehr Graham hired Dan Ross as chief financial officer and promoted Matt Dahlem to branch manager overseeing operations in its downtown Sheboygan office.

The Stephenson National Bank & Trust announced new hires: Shelly Morgensen, chief credit officer, and Kim Van Osdol, vice president and business development officer. It also promoted Elisa Rollo to chief retail officer and Beth Larson to assistant vice president.

Sue Loken was named chief risk officer at Bank First.

Mark A. Heuer joined Fox Valley Savings Bank as vice president of business banking.

Rian Cane joined Séura as vice president of sales.

Jeffrey Sachse was named interim director of the Center for Customized Research and Services at University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

Attorney and registered Wisconsin lobbyist Nicholas J. Probst joined von Briesen & Roper, s.c. and will lead the firm’s new Government Relations and Administrative Law section.

Carmen Lax joined Scholarships Inc. as NEW Scholars director.

CPA Jacob Pyle joined Enlighten Financial, LLC as a loan review specialist.

Ledgeview Partners announced new hires: Dave Rutherford, senior business analyst/project manager; Angela Brady Williams and Anusha Reddy Katam, .NET developers; Caleb Zautner, support consultant; and Mike Welch, Salesforce consultant. Chris Harp was promoted to senior solution architect-managing consultant.

Prophit hired El Hein, junior graphic designer, and Carly Sauld, project manager.

Hoffman Planning, Design & Construction announced new hires: Tammy Hall, project assistant, and Kerri Balcaitis, receptionist.

Sgt. Dave Jones, former emergency manager and investigative supervisor for UW-Green Bay Public Safety, was named UW-Green Bay’s chief of police, replacing Tom Kujawa, who retired in April 2019.

Endocrinologist Iftikhar Malik and nurse practitioner Christine Arendt joined Fox Valley Surgical Associates.

Family medicine physicians Merici Awe and Michael Werner joined Primary Care Associates of Appleton.

Optometrist Jordyn King joined BayCare Clinic Eye Specialists in Manitowoc.

Prevea announced new hires: general surgeon Humera Ahmad, Prevea Allouez Health Center; pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine physician Gurminder Dhillon, HSHS St. Nicholas Hospital; and nurse practitioner Heather Lensmire, Prevea Seymour Health Center.

Cardiologist Sampoornima Setty joined Bellin Health Cardiology Associates.

Obstetrician/gynecologist Julie DeJong joined Agnesian HealthCare’s Fond du Lac Regional Clinic.

Counselors Brett Schultz and Beth Reynoso joined HFM Behavioral Health.

Cory Krolczyk joined H.J. Martin and Son as a warehouse delivery driver.

Keller Inc. hired Chase Solomon, Connor Schwahn and Colton Kaszuba as building craftsmen.


Dennis Tienor was promoted to senior vice president, business banking at Bank First.

Marian University announced several promotions: William Mangan, vice president of advancement; Joseph Foy, dean of faculty; and Sister Donna Innes, dean of graduate studies.

Bank of Luxemburg promoted Ashley Bley to relationship banker.

Aurora BayCare named five new physician partners; Jared Boyd, anesthesia; Christopher Keto, urological surgery; Brandon Newell, oral and maxillofacial surgery; Arman Shaikh, cardiology; and Robert Zemple, emergency medicine.


Three members of the UW-Green Bay faculty received named professorships: Luis Fernandez, Robert and Joanne Bauer Endowed Professorship in Strings; Michael Draney, Barbara Hauxhurst Cofrin Professorship of Natural Sciences; and Pao Lor, Patricia Wood Baer Professorship in Education.

The Greater Green Bay Chamber selected Paul Belschner, president and CEO of Base Companies LLC, as the 2019 Daniel Whitney Award recipient.

Lucy Arendt, professor of business administration at St. Norbert College, was appointed to the Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazards Reduction.

The Greater Green Bay Chamber selected Green Bay Packers player Blake Martinez as the recipient of its Community Service Award.

David Lally, director of Business Development & Advocacy for HSHS St. Vincent, St. Mary’s, St. Nicholas and St. Clare hospitals, received the American Hospital Association’s 2019 Grassroots Champion award.

Richard Windsor, a urological surgeon with Aurora BayCare Medical Center, received the UroLift Center of Excellence recognition.

Shaheda Govani, owner of Govani Dental, was inducted as a fellow into the International College of Dentists Class of 2019.

Board appointments

Craig Dickman, managing director of TitletownTech, was named to the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp.’s Entrepreneurship & Innovation Committee.

Thomas Hopp joined the Moraine Park Technical College District Board.

Corey Vanderpoel, owner and managing director of Taureau Group, LLC, was appointed to the PBS Holdings Inc. board of directors.

The Greater Green Bay Chamber added the following new members to its economic development board of directors: Brad Charapata, BMO Harris Bank; Randy Crevier, Wells Fargo; Ann Franz, NEW Manufacturing Alliance; Adam Willems, Baker Tilly; Scott Willert, America’s Service Line, LLC; Mathew Dornbush, Cofrin School of Business, UW-Green Bay; Dan Heiser, dean of The Donald J. Schneider School of Business & Economics, St. Norbert College; Kim Cookle and Gregg Mleziva, Village of Denmark; and Alex Kaker, Village of Suamico.

Gov. Tony Evers announced appointees to the Governor’s Task Force on Caregiving. Those from the New North include: Lisa Schneider, Respite Care Association of Wisconsin; Stephanie Birmingham, Options for Independent Living Inc.; Mo Thao-Lee, Universal Home Health Care Inc.; and Carol Bogda, Oneida Nation Social Services/Elder Services.